Which States Do Not Require a Fishing License

Maybe you haven’t a fishing license but you got crazy to go fishing. So, it would be better to know which states do not require a fishing license. There are a few states in the US that do not require a fishing license. These states are Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and South Carolina.

In this guide, we will talk about the fishing license that covers all states and places to fish without a license. If you are interested then let’s move forward to the next section.

Is There a Fishing License That Covers All States

There has no fishing license that you can use for fishing in all states. usually, a fishing license is made as per the specific regulations, requirements and fees.

Which States Do Not Require a Fishing License
  • Save

Credit: www.lakegeorge.com

Does Every State in the Us Require a Fishing License?

No, every state in the United States does not require a fishing license. There are a few states that do not have any regulations regarding fishing licenses, and therefore do not require one. The states that do not require a fishing license are Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky (for residents only), Louisiana, Minnesota (for residents only), Mississippi (for residents only), Montana, Nebraska (for residents only), New Hampshire (for residents only), North Carolina ( for residents only), Oklahoma ( for residents only), Pennsylvania ( for resident s with disabilities ), Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The states that require a fishing license are Alabama, Arizona, California Colorado Connecticut Florida Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Missouri New Jersey New Mexico New York North Dakota Ohio Oregon South Dakota Texas Utah Vermont Washington D.C..

Can You Fish in the Us Without a License?

No, you cannot fish in the United States without a license. A fishing license is required in order to fish in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The only exception to this rule is for those who are under the age of 16 or over the age of 65, as they are not required to have a license.

Can You Still Fish Without a License in Texas?

Yes, you can still fish without a license in Texas, but there are some restrictions. If you want to fish in public waters, you must have a valid fishing license. However, if you are fishing on private property, you do not need a license.

There are also some exceptions for people who are disabled or who are under the age of 16.

Where Can I Fish in Fl Without a License?

There are many places where you can fish in Florida without a license. However, there are also many places where you need a license to fish. The best place to start looking for places to fish is the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) website.

On the FWC website, you can search for public fishing areas by county. Some of the most popular places to fish in Florida without a license are at one of the many state parks. Many state parks have lakes or ponds that are stocked with fish and open to the public for fishing.

Some of these state parks include Fort De Soto Park, Hugh Taylor Birch State Park, John D. MacArthur Beach State Park, Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park, and Myakka River State Park. Another great place to fish without a license is on a pier. There are many piers located throughout Florida that allow public fishing.

Some of these piers include Clearwater Beach Pier 60, Destin East Pass Marina Pier, Jensen Beach Causeway Bridge Pier, Pensacola Beach Gulf Pier, and St Augustine Municipal Fishing Pier. If you’re willing to pay a small fee, there are also some private lakes that offer day passes for fishing. These lakes typically have better-quality fish than public lakes and don’t require a license.

CMC Conservation Hunting Fishing License for State Wildlife Areas


There are eight states in the United States that do not require a fishing license. These states are Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana and Wyoming. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations regarding fishing licenses so it is important to check with your local state before heading out to fish.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap